The Black Church in America

   The purpose of this collection is to provide a   research guide to the many resources available at UPSem Libraries for studying the important roles the Black Church has played and continues to play in American history, politics, and culture.

Please note that the categories in the menu at left are not always clearly delineated. You'll find books under the "Theologies" tab, for instance, that are also very much about politics. Take some time to browse and see what's under the different tabs.

   Additionally, we recommend that this guide be used in conjunction with UPSem Libraries' guide to the Katie Geneva Cannon Research Collection, which focuses on Womanist theology, ethics, and biblical interpretation.

Borrowing books that we own:

Current Students / Faculty / Staff

• Regular Students: No more than 100 books, due at the end of the term
• Students Seeking D.Min or Th.M: No more than 100 books, due on June 1
• Faculty: No more than 100 books, due on June 1
• Staff: No more than 10 books, due in 3 weeks

Alumni

• No more than 10 books, due in 3 weeks

Community Leaders

• No more than 10 books, due in 3 weeks

Patrons from Partner Libraries

• No more than 5 books, due in 3 weeks

Getting articles from our databases:

Current Students / Faculty / Staff

• Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
• Access our databases from our website with your library card number and password
• If the title is not available in full text, please request that we ILL it!

Alumni:

• Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
• Access some of the databases through the alumni portal at home
• If the title you want is not available, please ILL it from your local public library.

Community Leaders:

• Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
• If the title you want is not available, please ILL it from your local public library.

Patrons from Partner Libraries

• Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
• If the title you want is not available, please ILL it from your home institution's library.

Borrowing books that we DON'T own:

Current Students / Faculty / Staff

•  You can request an ILL.
• You can also place a request to add the book to our collection.
  • Request an addition to the Richmond collection here.
  • Request an addition to the Charlotte collection here.

Alumni:

• If the title you want is not available, please request an ILL at your local public library.

Community Leaders:

• If the title you want is not available, please request an ILL at your local public library.

Patrons from Partner Libraries

• If the title you want is not available, please request an ILL at your home institution's library.

Downloading Audiobooks:

All registered patrons may download audiobooks from our collection. They will be automatically returned in 3 weeks.