A. Purpose Statement
The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library provides print and electronic resources as well as library instruction to support the curricular needs and research activities of Union Presbyterian Seminary. Within the bounds of this focus, the Library also offers resources to church leaders, congregations, and visiting researchers for their study and growing understanding of Christian faith and practice.
B. The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library in Richmond
William Smith Morton Library, on the Seminary’s Richmond campus, holds some of the nation’s finest collections of print and electronic resources in biblical studies, theology, Christian education, and church history. Morton Library’s collections include approximately 322,000 printed items and 137,000 cataloged items in other formats. Its special collections include more than 4,800 rare titles dating from 1470 through 1830. There are also many nineteenth century church-related newspapers, especially those of a Presbyterian character in the South, and an outstanding collection of nineteenth century children’s books and Sunday school books. The personal papers of faculty members, ministers and missionaries of the Presbyterian Church (US) form the core of the 1,200 linear feet of the archival manuscript collection.
C. The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library in Charlotte
The Charlotte Library carries out this purpose in the context of part-time, non-residential students who live in and outside the Charlotte metro area. These students tend to be second-career students who work full-time during the week and attend classes on Saturdays. The size and type of the print collection in Charlotte reflects the needs of the Charlotte curriculum and patrons. The Charlotte library staff and patrons also benefit from having the Richmond collection, services, and staff to support greater library requirements.
D. Instructional Resource Center (IRC)
In addition to providing a general collection of print and electronic media, the Richmond campus offers an Instructional Resource Center (IRC) housing a substantial variety of audio-visual and print teaching materials and curricula. The contents of the IRC are fully integrated into the Library's online catalog so that patrons searching for books on a particular subject are alerted to available media on that subject as well. The IRC also provides a small collection of laptops, cameras, and other digital devices available to current students, faculty and staff members to borrow.
E. Degree Programs Supported
Resources will be purchased to support both the subject areas addressed by and the research methods employed by each of the Seminary's degree programs. They will be oriented toward graduate professional degrees designed to prepare students for vocational ministry in church and/or social and community settings and will provide support for faculty research and writing.
F. Denominational Traditions and Centers Supported by the UPSem Library
Because Union Presbyterian Seminary is a Presbyterian institution, the Library seeks to maintain a strong collection of resources relating to the Reformed and Presbyterian traditions. UPSem is authorized by the University Senate of the United Methodist Church to prepare United Methodist candidates for ordination; consequently, the Library collects resources in the United Methodist tradition. The Library also collects materials related to African-American Christian traditions and curriculum resources produced by multiple denominations and faith traditions. Beyond these particular foci, the Library strives to provide resources that represent the wide spectrum of beliefs, theological perspectives and traditions to be found in the Christian community, past and present.
G. Research Centers
The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library supports various institutional research centers including the Katie Geneva Cannon Center for Womanist Leadership, the Center for Social Justice and Reconciliation, the Syngman Rhee Global Mission Center for Christian Education and the Carl Howie Center for Science, Art, and Theology.