Clicking on the title takes you to the library catalog. From there, you can put the title on hold. The circulation desk will hold it for you for three days before putting it back on the shelf.
Times of yearning, practices of faith / Honoring the body / Hospitality / Household economics / Saying yes and saying no / Keeping Sabbath / Testimony / Discernment / Shaping communities / Forgiveness / Healing / Dying well / Singing our lives / Practicing a way of life / A way of thinking about a way of life
Today's busy world may bring a tiredness that cansettle on the human spirit. Struggling through hectic, frenzied, stressful lives, we scrape and scramble toward something that leaves us empty and feeling cheated, let down, and bone-weary. God doesn't want it to be that way for us.
Drawing on his travels to some of India's holy places, the life and work of writers like Thomas Merton, Charles de Foucauld and Abishaktanda and his own experience as a Benedictine hermit, the author opens dialogue possibilities between three of the today's major religions.
From prayer to how Christianity views life after death, Knitter argues that a Buddhist standpoint can encourage a more person-centred conception of Christianity, where individual religious experience comes first, and liturgy and tradition second.
The Bloomsbury Guide to Christian Spirituality is written by foremost academics in their fields. Appealing equally to those studying the tradition for religious formation or those wishing to acquaint themselves with this fascinating subject, this guide is destined to become an essential text.
Interweaving historical footage, interviews and extensive conversations with Fr. Thomas, the film traces his spiritual journey. He became one of the originators of Centering Prayer. In 1984 he founded Contemplative Outreach to bring Centering Prayer to a worldwide audience.
Atla Religion Database® with AtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 480 full text titles, including all AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) titles.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. Edited by well-known experts in the field, the Encyclopedia covers all the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day. The broad multidisciplinary coverage includes the religious life of indigenous peoples, specific aspects of religious life, and the relationship of political, social, economic, and cultural spheres.
Topics include:
Religion as an influential force in the U.S.
Methods of worship
Religion and politics
Homosexuality and religion
African American religion
Arts and architecture
Church-state issues
Education
Environment and ecology
Ethnicity
Evangelicals
Faiths
Gay and lesbian issues
Historical overviews
Immigration
Media (new and old)
Megachurches
Movements and denominations
New religious movements
Popular religion and culture
Race and racism
Religious thought
Religious Right
Rites
Role of women
Terrorism and war
This provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Practical Spiritualities in a Media Age by 
Protestant Spiritual Exercises by 
When Spiritual but Not Religious Is Not Enough by 
The Way of Prayer by 
Prayer for People Who Can't Sit Still by 
Practicing Our Faith by 
Are You Fired up or Burned Out? by 
The Way of the Hermit by 
Without Buddha I Could Not Be a Christian by 
The Bloomsbury Guide to Christian Spirituality by 
Finding Our Way Again by 
On our way conversations about Christian practices for living a whole life. by 
Proclaiming community, practicing hospitality by 
A Rising Tide of Silence
