LibGuides: Public Theology: Womanist Mysticism and Social Change

Accessing Fundi

Fundi

Useful Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

ATLAS Plus This link opens in a new window

JSTOR Religion and Theology Collection This link opens in a new window

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window

Useful Primary Source Databases

African American Historical Serials (1816-1922) This link opens in a new window

African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new window
This digital resource brings together in a single place nearly 1,400 fully searchable printed works by and about African Americans during the period from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. Capturing voices of, by, for, and about African Americans, this unique collection covers such critically important subjects as the development of African-American identity; descriptions of African-American life—both slave and free; slavery and race; eyewitness accounts of African-American life in the South, the North, and elsewhere; and official reports on the “progress” of African Americans. Also included are important works of African-American individuals and organizations and works of fiction, poetry and drama.

African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
"African Americans and Jim Crow" consolidates more than 1,000 fully searchable printed works by and about African Americans during a pivotal period of segregation and disenfranchisement. Capturing voices of, by, for, and about African Americans, this one-of-a-kind digital resource covers such critically important subjects as the evolution of African-American identity; eyewitness accounts of African-American life throughout the United States; relationships between African Americans and peoples of other nations; race in literature; and official reports on the changing status of African Americans. Also included are important printed works of African-American individuals and organizations and numerous works of fiction, poetry and drama.

Black Life in America, Series 3, 1976 - today: Black History Month to Today This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window

Newswires This link opens in a new window

Required Texts

Best Practice:

Sign into the library databases BEFORE you try to connect with a book. If you forget, and the book won't open at first, refresh the page. That usually works. If you run into trouble, please contact Ryan Douthat.

Pro-Tip: Chapter downloads are limited by the day. Wait 24 hours or so, and download again if you need more.

African American Female Mysticism by Joy R. Bostic
African-American Female Mysticism: Nineteenth Century Religious Activism is an important book-length treatment of African-American female mysticism. The primary subjects of this book are three icons of black female spirituality and religious activism - Jarena Lee, Sojourner Truth, and Rebecca Cox Jackson.

Katie's Canon by Katie Geneva Cannon (Editor)
Katie's Canon is a selection of essays written for a variety of occasions throughout Cannon's celebrated career. This new edition contains three additional essays and a new foreword by Emilee Townes. The volume weaves together the particularities of Cannon's own history and the oral tradition of African American women, African American women's literary traditions, and sociocultural and ethical analysis.

Word, Like Fire by Valerie C. Cooper
Maria Stewart is believed by many to have been the first American woman of any race to give public political speeches. The religious, political, and social threads of her thought are tightly interwoven, such that focusing narrowly on any one aspect would be to misunderstand her rhetoric. Cooper demonstrates how a certain kind of biblical interpretation can be a Rosetta Stone for understanding various areas of African American life and thought that still resonate today.

Joy Unspeakable by Holmes
The research in this book-through oral histories, church records, and written accounts--details not only ways in which contemplative experience is built into African American collective worship but also the legacy of African monasticism, a history of spiritual exemplars, and unique meditative worship practices. A groundbreaking work in its original edition, Joy Unspeakablenow appears in a new, revised edition to address the effects of this contemplative tradition on activism and politics and to speak to a new generation of readers and scholars.

The Womanist Idea by Layli Maparyan
The Womanist Idea offers a comprehensive, systematic analysis of womanism, including a detailed discussion of the womanist worldview (cosmology, ontology, epistemology, logic, axiology, and methodology) and its implications for activism. From a womanist perspective, social and ecological change is necessarily undergirded by spirituality - as distinct from religion per se - which invokes a metaphysically informed approach to activism.

Freedom Faith by Courtney Pace
Freedom faith was the central concept of Prathia Laura Ann Hall's theology: the belief that God created humans to be free and assists and equips those who work for freedom. Hall rooted her work simultaneously in social justice, Christian practice, and womanist thought. She was a pioneer, fusing womanist thought with Christian ethics and visions of social justice.

Additional Reading

Click the book cover to be taken to the title, either in the library catalog or in the ebook collection.

Available as an ebook.	UPSem Library does not own this title. Other local libraries do.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.
Available in the Library in the print collection.	UPSem Library does not own this title. Other local libraries do.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.
Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available as an ebook.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.
Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.
Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	UPSem Library does not own this title. Other local libraries do.	Available in the Library in the print collection.
Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available in the Library in the print collection.	Available as an ebook.	Available as an ebook.
Available as an ebook.