Research Databases
Katie Geneva Cannon Research Collection: This research guide is a central source for information relating to the extraordinary life and work of Professor Katie Geneva Cannon, an esteemed and beloved leader of the Union Presbyterian Seminary community and a major scholar and authority in the field of Womanist theology and ethics. The guide is maintained by our Instructional Resources Librarian, Dora Rowe, and developed in conversation with the Katie Geneva Cannon Center for Womanist Leadership at UPSem.
African American Historical Serials (1816-1922): The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America: This database examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. Articles on “Abolitionism and Antislavery,” numerous African-American church denominations, “African American Religion” in several historical eras, and “Race and Racism” are just some of the topics you’ll find covered here.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 (pre-1893): This collection covers diverse topics such as philosophy, the evolutionary debate, the Reformation, spiritualism, prayer, ancient linguistics, archeology, devotionals, ethics, and more in a variety of languages. It contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions, with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Because religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during this time period, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 (1893-1922): This collection consists of over five million pages of content from over 14,880 monographs dating from 1894 through 1922. This collection provides a broad view of the changing landscape of religion in America at the end of a century of dramatic cultural and political change. It offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. It presents a comprehensive picture of American life at the time with the rise of missionary activity and evangelical Christianity and the emergence of the historical critical method – the foundation for all twentieth century biblical scholarship.
ATLAS Plus: Atla Religion Database® with AtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 480 full text titles, including all AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) titles.
The African American Pulpit. [Valley Forge, PA : Judson Press], 1997-present. [link] Holdings include 1997 to present.
The Black Church. [Boston : Black Ecumenical Commission of Massachusetts], 1972-1974. [link]
Black Sacred Music: A Journal of Theomusicology. [Durham, NC : Duke University Press], 1987-1995. [link vols. 1-2] [link vols. 3-9]
Black Theology [London; New York : Sheffield Academic Press], 2002-present. Holdings begin with 2019. [link]
Christianity and Crisis, Special Double Issue (1970): "The Black Church." [link]
The Journal of African American History. [The Association for the Study of African-American Life and History. Silver Spring, MD : Association for the Study of African American Life and History], 2002-. [link] Holdings include vols. 87 to present.
The Journal of Black Studies. [Newbury Park, CA : Sage Publications], 1970-2007. [link]
The Journal of Negro History [Washington : Association for the Study of Negro Life and History], 1916-2001. [link] Some volumes missing.
Phylon [Atlanta, Ga. : Atlanta University], 1940-1992. [link vols. 1-17] [link vol. 18] [link vols. 24-49] Some volumes missing.