LibGuides: Katie Geneva Cannon Research Collection: (De)Criminalizing Gender

Borrowing books that we own:

Current Students / Faculty / Staff

Regular Students: No more than 100 books, due at the end of the term
Students Seeking D.Min or Th.M: No more than 100 books, due on June 1
Faculty: No more than 100 books, due on June 1
Staff: No more than 10 books, due in 3 weeks

Alumni

No more than 10 books, due in 3 weeks

Community Leaders

No more than 10 books, due in 3 weeks

Patrons from Partner Libraries

No more than 5 books, due in 3 weeks

Getting articles from our databases:

Current Students / Faculty / Staff

Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
Access our databases from our website with your library card number and password
If the title is not available in full text, please request that we ILL it!

Alumni:

Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
Access some of the databases through the alumni portal at home
If the title you want is not available, please ILL it from your local public library.

Community Leaders:

Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
If the title you want is not available, please ILL it from your local public library.

Patrons from Partner Libraries

Access all of our databases on campus without logging in
If the title you want is not available, please ILL it from your home institution's library.

Borrowing books that we DON'T own:

Current Students / Faculty / Staff

P lease request that we ILL it !

Alumni:

If the title you want is not available, please request an ILL at your local public library.

Community Leaders:

If the title you want is not available, please request an ILL at your local public library.

Patrons from Partner Libraries

If the title you want is not available, please request an ILL at your home institution's library.

Downloading Audiobooks:

All registered patrons may download audiobooks from our collection. They will be automatically returned in 3 weeks.

Collection Limitations

No library can collect everything, as much as we might wish we could. Most of the titles in this section of the bibliographies are available locally at another institution. Or, they may be borrowed via InterLibrary Loan. If you click the links in the "Titles Available through ILL," then you will be able to see which libraries have the books near you.

In the Library

Queer (In)justice: The Criminalization of LGBT People in the United States by Joey L. Mogul, Andrea J. Ritchie and Kay Whitlock
ISBN: 9780807051177
Publication Date: 2012
Draws on years of research, activism, and legal advocacy to present an examination of the gay experience, illustrating the continuing punishment of gay expression in the United States and illuminating strategies for change.

The Ambivalent Silences of the Left: Lovelle Mixon, Police and the Politics of Race and Rape (2009)
Raider Nation Collective. 2009. "The Ambivalent Silences of the Left: Lovelle Mixon, Police and the Politics of Race and Rape." San Francisco Bay View (April 21, 2009)

In an Abusive State by Kristin Bumiller
ISBN: 9780822342397
Publication Date: 2008
"[This book] provides a needed and instructive retrospective of the violence against women movement. Kristin Bumiller brings into focus the uneasy alliance between feminists and the state by looking critically at the official conduct of rape trials and domestic assault cases, as well as the routine surveillance of women considered `dependent.' Using extensive empirical analysis, she exposes the limitations of strategies that attempt to incorporate feminist practices within mainstream institutions."-Martha Albertson Fineman
Revolution Starts at Home by Ching-In Chen (Editor); Jai Dulani (Editor); Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849352628
Publication Date: 2016
The Revolution Starts at Home is as urgently needed today as when it was first published. This watershed collection breaks the dangerous silence surrounding the “secret” of intimate violence within social justice circles. Just as importantly, it provides practical strategies for dealing with abuse and creating safety without relying on the coercive power of the state. It offers life-saving alternatives for survivors, while building a movement where no one is left behind.
Arrested Justice by Beth E. Richie
ISBN: 9780814776223
Publication Date: 2012
Black women in marginalized communities are uniquely at risk of battering, rape, sexual harassment, stalking and incest. Through the compelling stories of Black women who have been most affected by racism, persistent poverty, class inequality, limited access to support resources or institutions, the author shows that the threat of violence to Black women has never been more serious, demonstrating how conservative legal, social, political and economic policies have impacted activism in the U.S. based movement to end violence against women. She argues that Black women face particular peril because of the ways that race and culture have not figured centrally enough in the analysis of the causes and consequences of gender violence. As a result, the extent of physical, sexual and other forms of violence in the lives of Black women, the various forms it takes, and the contexts within which it occurs are minimized, at best, and frequently ignored. This book brings issues of sexuality, class, age, and criminalization into focus right alongside of questions of public policy and gender violence, resulting in a compelling critique, a passionate re-framing of stories, and a call to action for change.
Captive genders : trans embodiment and the prison industrial complex by Eric Stanley; CeCe McDonald (Foreword by); Nat Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849352345
Publication Date: 2015
Pathologized, terrorized, and confined, trans/gender non-conforming and queer folks have always struggled against the prison industrial complex. Eric A. Stanley and Nat Smith bring together current and former prisoners, activists, and academics for a new understanding of how race, gender, ability, and sexuality are lived in incarceration.