Atla Religion Database® with AtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 480 full text titles, including all AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) titles.
The author shares many of her rich life experiences as a black clergywoman and seminary professor. She preaches and teaches to all women so they can begin to break through the very real brick ceiling that threatens to hold them in and keep them from their call to ministry, using the coping mechanisms familiar to the African American experience. Each chapter includes invaluable practical suggestions to help women in ministry faithfully navigate the internal and external challenges at every turn
An examination the practice of hospitality within a group of African Americans who gather monthly as the Dear Sisters Literary Group. Using ethnographic and aesthetic approaches informed by womanist scholarship, the author connects their experiences to the ways in which such gatherings enable African American women not to just survive, but to become resilient. Westfield reflects on how this particular practice of hospitality relates to the longstanding African American tradition of concealing gatherings, as well as the larger Christian tradition of hospitality. She concludes by outlining practical implications of her research for Christian religious education.
To illustrate the complexities of black women's experiences of self-identification and racial embodiment, Phillis Isabella Sheppard provides an account that engages both psychoanalytic theory and the role of religion and cultural objects in self-understanding.
Walker-Barnes examines the burdensome yoke that the "Strong Black Woman" ideology places upon African American women. She demonstrates how its three core features -- emotional strength, caregiving, and independence -- constrain African American women and predispose them to physical and emotional health problems, including obesity, diabetes, hypertension, and anxiety. She traces the influences that resulted in the evolution and maintenance of the Strong Black Woman, including the Christian church, R & B and hip-hop artists, and popular television and film. Drawing upon womanist pastoral theology and twelve-step philosophy, she calls upon pastoral caregivers to aid in the healing of African American women's identities and crafts a twelve-step program for Strong Black Women in recovery.
This book establishes how Buddhism in the Insight Meditation tradition supports "remarkable relational resilience" for women who are of African descent and same-sex loving, yet living in a society that often invalidates women, African-Americans, LGBTQ people, and non-Christians. Pamela Ayo Yetunde explores the psycho-sexual experiences of African-American Buddhist lesbians, and shows that their abilities to be in healthy relationships are made possible through their Buddhist practices and communities, even in the face of invisibilizing forces related to racial, gender, sexuality, and religious discrimination and oppression.