A professional reference staff is available to assist distance education students with resource access, study and research. Students may expect assistance from different librarians depending on the subject of the question. Our staff welcomes the opportunity to help you plan and conduct your study projects. Below is a list of our reference staff, their contact information and their areas of expertise.
Robin McCall
Seminary Librarian
email: rmccall@upsem.edu
voice: 804-278-4311
Talk to me about......Library policies, access to collections and services, collection development
needs, staffing needs or concerns, financial gifts or other donations, general suggestions or
complaints.
Mengistu Lemma
Reference & Interlibrary Loan Librarian
email: mlemma@upsem.edu
voice: (804) 278-4333
Talk to me about......Online research databases, how to search, choosing the database most
appropriate for your search, searching techniques. Accordance and other in- house electronic
research materials
David Mayo
Interim Library Director, Charlotte Campus
email: david.mayo@upsem.edu voice: (980) 636-1665
Talk to me about......The research process, finding resources for specific projects, tips for writing well in Seminary, Charlotte course reserves, acquiring materials from Richmond-based collections or through electronic interlibrary loans, requesting items for purchase.
Dora Rowe
Instructional Services Librarian
email: drowe@upsem.edu voice: (804) 278-4324
Talk to me about......Media or curriculum searching in the Library catalog, online tutorials for Library resources, digital resources for teaching (such programs as VoiceThread, Prezi, infographics, etc. as well as mobile apps for teaching/learning). Webtools/programs: Podcasting, video editing, basic sound editing, developing a website with WordPress, graphics programs (e.g. Canva). Finding Creative Commons or copyright-free images or music or finding licensing for media. Video Streaming Services (access, creating clips, etc.) and other digital resources.
Lisa Janes
Circulation Supervisor
email: ljanes@upsem.edu voice: (804) 278-4335
Talk to me about.....Your Library account, Online Library catalog searches, placing holds, etc.
Ryan Douthat
Director of Public & Electronic Services, Director of Archives & Special Collections
email: rdouthat@upsem.edu voice: (804) 278-4217
Talk to me about......Online systems, broken links and database, catalog or eBook connection issues. Archives and special collections scanning.