The Classic Sermon Index catalogs over 40,000 sermons. All are published in English. Each sermon is cataloged according to its principal text (e.g., John 3:16), author, book title, and page number within the book that contains it. Many sermons are from historically significant public executions, funerals, and coronations. These include spoken sermons from the funerals of George Washington and King George III. Many topical sermons about dueling, slavery, the Boston Tea Party, and other period specific issues are also indexed.
Nearly 75% of the sermons are hyperlinked to online copies.
A click of the mouse immediately takes you to the book.
Sermons indexed are by liberals and conservatives, ancient preachers and modern, Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant, men and women. It allows the student/scholar/preacher to find quickly some of the greatest sermonic material in existence. The database includes a bibliography of the works indexed with full bibliographic information. Also included are brief biographical sketches of the various preachers, allowing for chronological searches (e.g., sermons on baptism preached before AD 500). The index is being added to almost daily.
The first major online collection of Karl Barth's works. Included in the collection are the English translation of Barth's magnum opus, The Church Dogmatics, in its entirety. The original German version, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, is also included as are the first 45 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. These volumes are supplemented by seven additional German works that have not yet been published as part of the Gesamtausgabe and English translations of thirteen important texts by Barth.
Ministry Matters offers practical and immediate inspiration for preachers, teachers, and worship leaders. With thousands of original articles and blogs, unique book reviews, and weekly worship and preaching helps in our This Sunday area, Ministry Matters provides both community and inspiration to Christian leaders. Tens of thousands of pages of full-text research and reference materials are available in our Premium Subscription--everything from The New Interpreter's Bible and the Abingdon Old and New Testament Commentaries to devotions, prayers, and sermon starters.
New Testament Abstracts Online offers a growing collection of abstracts for religion and biblical theology research. Each year, an additional 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1977.
Style Manuals Online
You want to ensure that your paper's style is consistent throughout the document, as this helps your reader understand and follow your arguments. There are several accepted style manuals, but three of the most popular are listed below. The Library has copies of each of the newest style manuals, as well.
