LibGuides: Preaching and Worship: Anglican / Episcopalian Resources

Denominational Resources

Lectionary Aids

Online Lectionary

Online Art Resources

Vanderbilt's Art in the Christian Tradition

In Print at the Library

Revised Common Lectionary Pew Edition by Church Publishing
A Women's Lectionary for the Whole Church by Wilda C. Gafney
God's Word, My Voice by Lyn Zill Briggs
Words That Listen by Ian S. Markham (Editor); James Barney Hawkins (Editor)

Hymnal and Musical Aids in the Library

A Concordance of the Hymnal, 1982 by Robert F. Klepper (Compiled by)

Introducing the Hymnal, 1982 by Church Publishing

A Liturgical Index to the Hymnal 1982 by Marion J. Hatchett; Church Publishing

The Hymnal 1982 Companion 3A 1-384 by Raymond F. Glover (Editor)

The Hymnal 1982 Companion 3B 385-720 by Raymond F. Glover (Editor)

The Book of Common Prayer

Book of Common Prayer EBook in:

Anglican Common Worship

From the clickable link above:
"Common Worship is a family of volumes which, together with the Book of Common Prayer, make up the official liturgical resource of the Church of England."

Episcopal Liturgical Resources

Occasional services
Marriage liturgy
Special Prayers
Service for the Loss of a Pet

Episcopal Resource Library

A visual identity guide
Official logos, shields, and graphics
Advocacy Resources

Resources from the Task Force on Liturgical and Prayer Revision

Trial Use rites for marriage and Eucharist
Enriching Our Worship series
- 1: Morning and Evening Prayer, the Great Litany, the Holy Eucharist
- 2: Ministry with the Sick and Dying, Burial of a Child
- 3: Burial Rites for Adults together with a Rite for the Burial of a Child
- 4: Renewal of Ministry with the Welcoming of a New Rector or Pastor
- 5: Liturgies and Prayers Related Childbearing, Childbirth, and Loss
- 6: The Witnessing and Blessing of a Lifelong Convenant
Book of Occasional Services
Feast Calendar
Daily Prayer resources
Special rites for the care of animals

Online Hymnals

Common Praise
This is the Anglican hymnal. The hymns are online for study, but you may **NOT** perform them without permission!

Lift Every Voice and Sing II
The hymns are online for study, but you may **NOT** perform them without permission!

The Hymnal 1982
The hymns are online for study, but you may **NOT** perform them without permission!

Wonder, Love, and Praise
Many of the hymns are not completely available, but information about them is provided. You can also find the print hymnal in the Library.

Print Hymnals Available in the Library

Common Praise (Anglican)
Since it was first introduced in 2000, Common Praise: the new Hymns Ancient & Modern has sold over 100,000 copies, and been adopted by parishes in every diocese in England and Wales including eight English cathedrals and in five of the seven dioceses in Scotland. It is also used in numerous schools, colleges, hospitals, residential homes, retreat houses, religious communities, crematoria, missions and military garrisons.

Lift Every Voice and Sing II Pew Edition
This popular collection of 280 musical pieces from both the African American and gospel traditions has been compiled under the supervision of the Office of Black Ministries of the Episcopal Church. It includes service music and several psalm settings in addition to the Negro spirituals, gospel songs, and hymns.

The Hymnal 1982 (Episcopal) by Church Publishing
This pew edition (also called basic singers edition) contains all hymns and service music for all who sing, choir and congregation alike. It is the current official Episcopal Hymnal.

Songs for the Cycle by Michael Hudson
This collection of 153 beautiful, evocative, and poetic hymn texts,based on the Episcopal lectionary on the BCP, can be sung to at least one familiar hymn tune. A hymn tune index and a thematic index provide additional planning possibilities. Hymn tunes are suggested for each text and are indexed metrically so that substitutions may be made when necessary. Songs may be reproduced for congregational use.

Voices Found by Church Publishing
A rich collection of hymns and spiritual songs by, for, and about women. The music in Voices Found: Women in the Church's Song is written in congregational hymn style and is intended for normal parish use. Some music is arranged for women's voices and is useful for women's groups or small choirs of treble voices.

Wonder, Love, and Praise Pew Edition by Church Publishing
This second supplement to The Hymnal 1982 is an eclectic collection of two hundred hymns and spiritual songs, including a large selection of service music and devotional pieces.There are additional seasonal hymns and a dozen bilingual hymns and another dozen from Lift Every Voice and Sing II. The service music section contains twenty-nine new canticle settings including six Glorias, two Te Deums, A Song of Wisdom and A Song of Pilgrimage from Supplemental Liturgical Materials. There are two sets of Gospel Acclamations based on hymn tunes for the seasons of Easter and Epiphany. In addition there are twenty-nine selections of other liturgical and devotional music that includes table graces, rounds, acclamations, and selections of Music from Taize.