Skip to main content

Internet Resources for Theology Students: Online Bible Resources

Introduction

Resources available from Charlotte and Morton libraries give deep, authoritative, and broad access to information that cannot be matched by internet material.  Students are encouraged to use library resources as much as possible.  Yet, with a careful and watchful eye there are times when internet material can be helpful, particularly with historical material.  The challenge is how narrow or broad should the subject of theology go?  In some ways, all subject areas in this subject guide are theology-based and it is artificial to separate them into different disciplines.  In other ways, if theology is so broadly defined, a subject guide can get so unwieldy that it becomes unmanageable.  I have taken a very practical approach by listing resources that would fall mostly into the area of a general theology class.  This is a start.  Many of the websites have lots of options and places to go.  I have tried to find the more impressive websites in order to save you some time and energy.  I hope you will agree.

Contents

1) Introduction

2)  General

3)  Hebrew Scripture/Old Testament

4)  New Testament

5)  Translation/Parallels/Map Aids/ and Other Tools

(More to come)

General

Bible Research

<http://www.bible-researcher.com/index.html>

This site is for Bible students who are looking for detailed information on the history of the canon, texts, and versions of Scripture.

Exegetical Resources

This page offers links to sites which contain aids for four main areas of New Testament exegesis (lexical, morphological, grammatical, contextual).

 Biblos
http://biblehub.com/

This impressive website gives a friendly toolbar at the top that gives you immediate access to a huge library--searchable atlas, concordance, Bible encyclopedia, Bible weights and measures, Bible summary, commentaries and much more.

Oremus Bible Browser

This browser can search the OT and NT by passage as well as by word or phrase.  There are several options to choose from when searching such as omitting versus or footnote when searching in addition to different versions.  The NRSV, NRSV (Anglicaize version), and a few other Psalters are availble when searching.  The display has been modified to be compatible with ISO devices.

STEP Bible

This is a Tyndale House project to build high quality free reliable Bible tools, with the aim of enabling anyone who wants to study the Bible seriously to do so. This has grown out of the free Tyndale Toolbar which is being used by thousands of people all over the world.  Various skill sets are needed, from non-specialists who can work accurately and patiently, to highly skilled Bible scholars and programmers.

Baker's Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology

This one volume evangelical reference volume includes over five hundred articles explaining the theological message and key themes of both Old and New Testaments.  Most entries contain a bibliography so further study is possible. 

Hebrew Scripture/Old Testament Resources

Online Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia

https://www.academic-bible.com/en/online-bibles/biblia-hebraica-stuttgartensia-bhs/read-the-bible-text/

 

The BHS online provided by academic-bible.com which is sponsored by The Scholarly Bible Portal of the German Bible Society.

 

New English Translation of the Septuagint

http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/nets/edition/

 

This electronic edition contains the masters of the second printing of A New English Translation of the Septuagint, as published by Oxford University Press in 2009, including corrections and emendations made in the second printing (2009) and corrections and emendations made in June 2014.

 

The Hebrew Text of the Old Testament

http://www.bible-researcher.com/hebrewtext.html

 

This site is for Bible students who are looking for detailed information on the history of the canon, texts,  and versions of Scripture.

 Old Testament Gateway
<
http://www.otgateway.com>

The Old Testament Gateway is fast becoming a comprehensive, annotated, academic directory of Internet web sites on the Old Testament.  Old Testament Gateway focuses on resources that are of interest to both scholars and students of the Old Testament.

Exploring Ancient World Cultures: The Near East
<
http://eawc.evansville.edu/nepage.htm>

An on-line course supplement for students and teachers of the ancient and medieval worlds. It features its own essays and primary texts and also includes a substantial index of Internet web sites.

Bible History On Line: Images and Resources for Biblical History
<
http://www.bible-history.com>

This web site contains recent archaeological discoveries as well as comparative historical research and philological studies, along with an analysis and interpretation of the Old Testament text have made possible a fuller and more reliable picture of Biblical history than in previous eras. There are many academic links that contain an incredible amount of good research tools and maps.

 Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon (CAL)

http://cal1.cn.huc.edu/

 This resource has a number of helpful tools.

 

 

New Testament Resources

Textual Criticism of the Greek New Testament

http://www.bible-researcher.com/title.html

 

This site is for Bible students who are looking for detailed information on the history of the canon, texts,  and versions of Scripture.

Exegetical Links for New Testament Studies

http://www.biblicalgreek.org/links/exegesis.php#Lexical%20Aids

 

 This page offers links to sites which contain aids for four main areas of New Testament exegesis (lexical, morphological, grammatical, and contextual).

New Testament Gateway
<
http://www.ntgateway.com/>

This comprehensive, up-to-date and user-friendly web site has won several awards and it features annotated links on everything from the Greek New Testament to Jesus in Film.  This is an important one-stop resource for the serious student of the New Testament. 

Hypertext Bible Dictionary
<
http://www.bible.gen.nz/dictionary.htm>

This is a web site of links that are intended as a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.  It is organized around four pages—Biblical texts and translations, Biblical studies electronically published, Aspects of the Mediterranean Social World, and the Philo of Alexandria page.

The Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon
http://www.tlg.uci.edu/lsj/#eid=1&context=lsj

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) has released of a new online version of Liddell-Scott-Jones (LSJ), a strong lexicon for classical Greek. The TLG version represents five years of intensive work to produce a fully edited and searchable version of LSJ with links to the TLG corpus.

 

 

 

Translation/Parallel/Map Aids and Other Tools

Resource Page for Biblical Studies

<http://torreys.org/bible/#bible>
 

Extensive and current websites focusing on the early Christian writings and their social world

World Wide Study Bible
<
http://www.ccel.org/wwsb>

The World Wide Study Bible is a study Bible developed and located around the world.  With the easy to navigate layout of the OT, NT and Apocrapha, the text comes with background articles, numerous translations, audio of text, commentaries, sermons, studies, and more. 

 

Bible Gateway
<https://www.biblegateway.com/>

 This is a free web site for reading and researching scripture online—all in the language or translation of your choice! They provide advanced searching capabilities based on keywords or scripture references, and various tools to enhance your study of the Bible.

 

New Revised Standard Version of the Bible
<
http://www.devotions.net/bible/00bible.htm>

 

The Five Gospels Parallels
<
http://www.utoronto.ca/religion/synopsis>

This presentation of the Five Gospels is designed to be a teaching tool for introductory level classes in New Testament and Christian Origins. For this reason, it does not offer the same level of detail as a printed synopsis (i.e. Throckmorton 1979, 1992; Aland 1985). Its advantage is that it allows more “play” than a printed synopsis and that it presents the materials in the same order as the canonical Gospels. Moreover, it offers texts that are not commonly included in the synopses designed for classroom use: Thomas and Paul.

 

New Testament Gateway: Maps
<
http://www.ntgateway.com/maps.htm>

 This site has a list of around 30 maps biblical maps.

 

Free High Resolution Bible Maps
<
http://www.bible.ca/maps>

This allows one to reproduce Bible maps! You can use print, photocopy or make overhead transparencies of these thirteen maps for church Bible studies etc. or personal use.  Maps are best viewed using Netscape browser.  IE, due to bugs, will not display all high resolution maps.

 

Study Light.org: Lexicons:  Old and New Testament Greek / Old Testament Hebrew
<
http://www.studylight.org/lex/>

 

Strong’s Concordance with Hebrew and Greek Lexicons
<
http://www.eliyah.com/lexicon.html>

This online concordance is based on KJV but you have the benefits of an online search which allows you to initiate multiple word searches.

 

Bible Reference

http://www.bible-researcher.com/index.html

This site is for Bible students who are looking for detailed information on the history of the canon, texts, and versions of Scripture.

 

 Bible Geocoding

http://www.openbible.info/geo/

 This site claims to have the location of every identifiable place mentioned in the Bible.  From the looks of it they may not be wrong.

 

Blue Letter Bible

http://www.blueletterbible.org/index.cfm


This is a strong website for certain parts of bible study.  It contains an array of bible search tools.  There are numerous translations, an interlinear representations, and a link to Strong's numbers where you can find lexicon information that gives grammatical and definition helps.  Word study is where this website is strongest.  As usual with internet resources, there are commentaries and dictionaries but they are limited and historical.  There ways you can personalize the information and use social media.  There is a good video tutorial section to help you get started.

 

Subject Guide

David Mayo's picture
David Mayo
Contact:
5141 Sharon Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28210
980-636-1665
Website