1. Project Basics
2. Create a Research Plan
4. Perform the Search
5. Cite Your Resources
6. Read and Evaluate
7. Annotate
Whether citing within a footnote or in the bibliography, there are certain pieces of information that are always included. However, the PUNCTUATION changes, depending on whether you are footnoting within the paper or providing the full citation at the end in your bibliography. Punctuation and pattern really matter here, so please be careful with all of your periods, commas, semicolons, and colons.
Find the patterns in the Chicago Manual of Style.
Footnotes are formatted slightly differently than bibliographies. While the basic citation information is the same, the punctuation is usually different, and this does really matter. Look at the patterns that are published, and match your citations (whether notes or bibliography) to the pattern describing what you need.
A Very Basic Refresher
I'm going back to basics with this section, because it never hurts to have an occasional refresher for what all these weird and esoteric citation labels mean. If you just want the patterns or how to cite something problematic, look to your right!
The person (or people) responsible for the source. CMoS lists the full name as known of three or fewer authors. If a source was created by more than three authors, then the first named mentioned is considered the primary author, and the others are referred to as "et al." In the bibliography, the author is listed with their last name first. In the footnotes, the first name begins the reference.
The title refers name of the specific part of the work you are citing and the entire publication itself. If this is a book written by one or two people, then you are probably only going to list one, However, if the work is a single chapter in a multi-author book, or an article in a journal, then you will list the title of the specific work, then the title of the publication. You will find the it either on the title page of a book, the table of contents of a collection of essays, or the top of an article in a journal
A subtitle is an additional part of the main title. On the title page of the work, you will see the subtitle written in a smaller font than the main title, and when you write the citation, you will separate the two with a colon. So, for example, Bibliographies Are Fun: Exploring the Minutiae of Citation.
A general formatting note: Book and journal titles are italicized. Article titles are written with quotation marks.
Journals are what we call "serial publications." This means that they are published in a series of issues. These issues are gathered together every year into a volume. If we get the journal in print, we then bind all of those individual issues into a single book. The volumes are numbered, as are the individual issues.
As an aside, you can also use the volume number as one method to judge how standard and valued as a reliable title the publication is. The older the publication, the more volumes it will have. And, in general, scholarly journals don't tend to get published year after year if other scholars don't find them useful. This should not be the only criterion that you use to judge authority, but it can be one of them.
Volume numbers are listed simply as the number. You do not use a number sign (#) or an abbreviation (no.) with it.
The place of publication is the CITY where the source was published. So, you frequently see "New York" as a place of publication; here we are referring to New York City, not New York state. If the city of publication is one that most of the general public would recognize (New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, London, Cairo, etc.), then you can just use the city name. However, if there could be any confusion about where the city is, you should also include the state or province. For example, "Richmond" could be in Virginia, Kentucky, British Columbia, England, or Australia, so something published by the Seminary should say Richmond, VA to establish which Richmond you mean.
"The publishing history of a book, which usually follows the copyright notice, begins with the date (year) of original publication, followed by the number and date of any new edition. In books with a long publishing history, it is acceptable to present only the original edition and the latest edition in the publishing history. (A previous publisher’s name need not be given unless the licensing agreement requires that it appear in the new edition.) Items in the publishing history may appear on separate lines; periods separate multiple items on the same line.
"For books, only the year, not the month or day, is included in the publication date. The date is found on the title page or, more commonly, on the copyright page. It is usually the same as the copyright date. If two or more copyright dates appear in a book, the first being those of earlier editions or versions, the most recent indicates the publication date. Chicago’s books normally carry both copyright date and publication date on the copyright page. For any edition other than the first, both the edition and the date of that edition must be included in a listing (see 14.113–15)." from the Chicago Manual of Style, 14.142 and 1.25
It's important to add the online location in your bibliography because this allows your readers (and always look at your audience as multiple readers, not just your professor!) to read further on the different topics that you have researched. Just as you mine the bibliographies of articles you read for further research on specific topics, so too will your readers mine your bibliography. Adding the online identifier makes it easy for them!
Also, whenever possible, use the digital object identifier (DOI), rather than the EBSCO database address. Not everyone has access to the same databases, so the DOI allows all of your readers to find the articles you used. To find the DOI, copy the full title of the article, and paste it into Google Scholar. When the article pops up in the results, right-click the link and copy it, then paste it into your bibliography.