Library Collection Development and Access Policy

1. Student and Faculty Access and User Privileges

Physical access to Library collections and services is provided to students and faculty through regular library operating hours on the Seminary’s Richmond and Charlotte Campuses. With the overlap between the Richmond and Charlotte campus schedules, Library staff are on duty and ready to deliver library services in person for up to 75.5 hours a week, plus extended hours during exam periods. Richmond’s physical service hours dip to 48 during the summer, when fewer courses are offered and many faculty members are away, to conserve staff funding for periods of greater use. We also offer a 24/7 study room in Richmond with computers and key reference resources, accessible in Richmond’s Watts Hall with a student or faculty key card.

For students and faculty, the process of setting up a Library account and gaining credentials to access both one’s library account and the library’s electronic resources begins when they are granted a student or faculty ID card by the institution. The barcode that is printed on their ID cards becomes their library account number and they use a 3-digit PIN with the barcode number to sign in to library services online. After a student or faculty member’s library account has been created, they receive information on how to check their library accounts online, request renewals, place holds, etc. New students, during the orientation process at UPSem, receive a $5.00 reloadable gift card to use for photocopies at the Library. Faculty members are allowed free access to copying services related to course reserves and may also use departmental copy codes on Library copiers.

Current students and faculty are entitled to access Library databases, e-books, and other electronic resources both on campus and off campus. When connected to the Seminary network via a wired or wireless connection on either campus (in Richmond or Charlotte library facilities, faculty offices, or dormitories, etc.), students and faculty are connected seamlessly to the library resources that they need. Students and faculty members who are off campus are asked to log in with their library account credentials when they click on a resource for which use is limited by a license or agreement. Our OpenAthens user authentication service is integrated with our catalog (Symphony) and electronic discovery layers (Enterprise and EBSCO Discovery Service) such that it can differentiate between users of different types, separated into distinct “permission sets”, providing each user with access to the electronic resources to which they are entitled according to the Library’s site licenses and user service agreements.

2. Alumni Access and User Privileges

If you are a graduate of Union Presbyterian Seminary, ATS, PSCE, UTS, Union-PSCE or Baptist Theological Seminary in Richmond, physical access to Library collections and services is provided to alumni through regular library operating hours on the Seminary’s Richmond and Charlotte Campuses. With the overlap between the Richmond and Charlotte campus schedules, Library staff are on duty and ready to deliver library services in person for up to 75.5 hours a week.

For alumni, the process of setting up a Library account and gaining credentials to access both one’s library account and the library’s Alumni Research Portal begins when they are granted a student ID card by the institution that will continue to serve as their alumni ID card. The barcode that is printed on their ID cards becomes their library account number and they use a 3-digit PIN with the barcode number to log into the Alumni Research Portal online. After an alumni member’s library account has been created, they receive information on how to check their library accounts online, request renewals, place holds, access the Alumni Research Portal and its resources, etc. Alumni who do not have their ID card or who are not currently registered may either complete the library patron registration form online or register in person at the library circulation desk.

3. Presbyterian Church (USA) and United Methodist Church Clergy Access and User Privileges

If you are a Presbyterian Church (USA) or United Methodist Church minister/educator, physical access to Library collections and services is provided to Presbyterian Church (USA) and United Methodist Church clergy through regular library operating hours on the Seminary’s Richmond and Charlotte Campuses. With the overlap between the Richmond and Charlotte campus schedules, Library staff are on duty and ready to deliver library services in person for up to 75.5 hours a week.

For Presbyterian Church (USA) or United Methodist Church clergy the process of setting up a Library account and gaining credentials to access both one’s library account and the library’s Member Research Portal begins when they provide a current letter of authorization from their presbyter or local superintendent along with a $30 payment. Upon receipt of their application form, credential validation and payment, their library ID card will be created. The barcode that is printed on their ID cards becomes their library account number and they use a 3-digit PIN with the barcode number to sign in to the Member Research Portal online. After a Presbyterian Church (USA) or United Methodist Church clergy member sets up an account, they receive information on how to check their library accounts online, request renewals, place holds, access the Member Research Portal and its resources, etc. Presbyterian Church (USA) or United Methodist Church clergy may either complete the library patron registration form online or register in person at the library circulation desk. Presbyterian Church (USA) or United Methodist Church clergy memberships renew annually on their account registration dates for $30.

4. Local Religious Leader/Teacher Access and User Privileges to its Library Services

If you are a local religious leader or a teacher of another denomination or religious faith, physical access to Library collections and services is provided through regular library operating hours on the Seminary’s Richmond and Charlotte Campuses. With the overlap between the Richmond and Charlotte campus schedules, Library staff are on duty and ready to deliver library services in person for up to 75.5 hours a week.

For local religious leaders or teachers, the process of setting up a Library account and gaining credentials to access both one’s library account and the library’s Member Research Portal begins when they provide a $50 payment along with either a letter from a religious organization attesting to their role or some other form of evidence, such as contact information on a website. Upon receipt of their application form, credential validation and payment, their library ID card will be created. The barcode that is printed on their ID cards becomes their library account number and they use a 3-digit PIN with the barcode number to sign in to the Member Research Portal online. After local religious leaders or teachers set up an account, they receive information on how to check their library accounts online, request renewals, place holds, access the Member Research Portal and its resources, etc. Local religious leaders or teachers may begin the registration process by completing the library patron registration form online or register in person at the library circulation desk. Local clergy or religious leader memberships renew annually on their account registration dates for $50.

5. Visiting Researchers

If you are a visiting researcher, physical access to Library's special collections and archives is provided by appointment only through regular library operating hours on the Seminary’s Richmond Campus. To schedule an appointment, visiting researchers may contact the Director of Archives and Special Collections, Ryan Douthat at (804) 278-4217 or rdouthat@upsem.edu.

For visiting researchers, reading access to the general collection is permitted and supervised research in Archives and Special Collections. Photocopies, photographs and scanning services are provided, as well as access to the library's ST View Scan microfilm scanner. Visiting researchers are also granted access to the library's on-site databases and eBooks.

This table contains a revised schedule for borrowing privileges for William Smith Morton Library, located in Richmond, Virginia, organized by patron status.

This table contains a revised schedule for borrowing privileges for the Charlotte Library of Union Presbyterian Seminary located in Charlotte, NC organized by patron status.

The main differences in these privileges at the Charlotte Library are that faculty members and students enrolled in the Th.M. or D.Min. programs can check out more total items and check them out for a full academic year, as opposed to just one academic term.

1. Library Building Accessibility

a. Outside the Library

Both the Richmond and Charlotte Libraries are located in close proximity to parking areas with multiple designated parking spots for patrons with disabilities. There are also appropriate cuts in the walkways next to these parking areas for wheelchair access. These walkways lead to wheelchair accessible ramps that lead to the front doors of both buildings. For assistance opening the front doors of the Richmond library building, patrons are encouraged to ring the front doorbell for or call the circulation desk for assistance.

b. Inside the Library

Inside the library, elevators are easily accessible on each level in both buildings. The Richmond library building has two elevators available to patrons on each end of the building. Bathrooms are accessible on each floor of both buildings and signage marks disability-friendly stalls equipped with grab bars and room to turn around. Bathrooms are also designed with adequate legroom under sink counters and mirror, soap and paper towel dispensers are within easy reach.

Public areas of both library buildings are accessible to persons with disabilities, including meeting rooms, carrels (Richmond library only), reference room, study spaces and regular stack areas. Persons with disabilities interested in accessing the movable stack areas in the Richmond library including the bound periodicals and International Book Room located on the lower level should contact the circulation desk for assistance. The circulation desks in both buildings have lower counter height sections that are easily accessible to all patrons.

2. For Patrons with Disabilities

The Richmond Library maintains a dedicated computer workstation for the use of patrons who are blind, vision-impaired or have certain learning or reading disabilities. The computer is loaded with the Kurzweil 3000 program to scan and convert printed matter to audible speech, and the ZoomText program to magnify text (including online web-based content), for the use of persons with low vision or blindness. For those with learning disabilities such as dyslexia, ADD, ADHD, dysgraphia or ESOL, the computer offers the Kurzweil 3000 program, which highlights text and provides visual and audio tracking. These highly capable programs can be customized and modified by the user to address many different individual needs. The workstation is located in a private room that is kept locked when not in use. For access to this facility, please inquire at the Circulation Desk.

3. UPSem Library Electronic Resource Accessibility Statement

A. For every license that is negotiated by Union Presbyterian Seminary Library, if a clause addressing ADA and WCAG compliance is not in the license, the following language is inserted. A license will not be signed if this language is not approved. "Licensor shall comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), by supporting assistive software or devices such as large print interfaces, text-to-speech output, refreshable braille displays, voice-activated input, and alternate keyboard or pointer interfaces in a manner consistent with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines published by the World Wide Web Consortium’s Web Accessibility Initiative"

B. For every new product that the library is considering purchasing, a VPAT will be either found or requested. This VPAT will be used as part of the process to determine if the product should be acquired or not. Non-compliance with ADA and WCAG standards will act as a deterrent to purchasing the material.

Students and faculty members who are off campus are asked to log in with their library account credentials when they click on a resource for which use is limited by a license or agreement. Our OpenAthens user authentication service is integrated with our catalog (Symphony) and electronic discovery layers (Enterprise and EBSCO Discovery Service) such that it can differentiate between users of different types, separated into distinct “permission sets”, providing each user with access to the electronic resources to which they are entitled according to the Library’s site licenses and user service agreements.

The OpenAthens permission set of current students, faculty, and staff members of both Richmond and Charlotte service locations enable them to access all of the library's subscription databases, eBooks and streaming collections. Current students, faculty, and staff members' unique PIN and barcode found on their library cards serve as credentials for accessing these digital resources.

Alumni users are given their own unique "permission set" within our OpenAthens user authentication service that enables off-site access to the Alumni Research Portal and each of the Alumni subscription databases and eBook collections listed in the portal. Alumni members' unique PIN and barcode found on their library cards serve as credentials for accessing these digital resources.

All other library member users are given their own unique "permission set" within our OpenAthens user authentication service that enables off-site access to the Member Research Portal and each of the Open Access databases and eBook collections listed in the portal. Library members' unique PIN and barcode found on their library cards serve as credentials for accessing these digital resources.

Your Library account information includes your contact details, checkouts and holds information, renewal options, and an option to allow SMS notifications to receive Library notices via text messaging. Use the same barcode number and PIN you used to access the Library's electronic resources to access your Library account. You can access your Library account in a couple of different ways. One is from the Library website homepage; users should click the My Account link located under the "Search Library Collections" box. You can also access your account from any catalog search results page. At the top-right of the page is a gray toolbar. Click the Log In option to sign into your account.

The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library home page (https://library.upsem.edu) contains links to all library resources and services, as well as a search box with advanced search options. Starting here, you can search the online catalog for all books (physical and electronic), journal titles, curriculum resources, DVDs, and other media owned by the library.

The search box on the Library's home page is the best place to begin your search for physical books. Enter your search term(s) in the box labeled "Search Library Collections", then click "Enter" or the magnifying glass icon shown below to begin your search. To narrow your search at this stage, pick one of the options from the Everything or All Fields menus to the left of the search box.

The Richmond Library's book stacks are located on each of the library's four levels. The current reclassification project is currently localized to the lower level west and third level east stacks locations. The Reference Room is located on the first level east side of the library

The Charlotte Library's regular collection book stacks are located on the first level with the circulation desk. The Reference Room can be found on the second level.

1. Library Classification System

Beginning in October 2017, the Richmond Library began a reclassification project to change all of our call numbers in the stacks to the Library of Congress system. For a few years, there will be two parallel collections, and there will be almost constant stacks shifting during this process. If you have trouble finding something, please do come to the Circulation Desk for help.
The classification system developed and maintained by the Library of Congress is extremely detailed and complex, since it covers every subject area. We have prepared a simplified summary of that system, providing more detail in our primary areas of specialization. The following chart is designed to aid in understanding the arrangement of the portion of the Richmond Library designated “LC Stacks" and improve access to the physical collection.

Special Symbols Used in Call Numbers

The Charlotte library uses the Dewey Decimal System as its classification system. The following chart is designed to aid in understanding of the arrangement of the portion of the Charlotte Library and to improve access to the physical collection.

In addition to collections of physical books and other items that have been curated by the Seminary’s librarians for over two-hundred years, the Union Presbyterian Seminary Library has been acquiring e-books from a variety of academic publishers in recent years and has adopted an e-preferred collection development strategy, opting to acquire books in electronic format whenever possible. These eBooks are hosted on a number of vendor platforms and, since each vendor platform is different, we have published a Finding and Using eBooks Research Guide online to provide detailed instructions for viewing, printing, copying and downloading eBooks on different platforms. These eBooks are available on any of the library's public computer workstations and via Wi-Fi on the seminary's IP ranges with no login information required.

They are also available remotely to all students, faculty, staff, and in some cases alumni and member users.
Some of our eBooks are limited to use by one user at a time, but it is possible to increase the number of authorized users if necessary, and we do this regularly. If users find that an eBook is already in use, we recommend they allow approximately one hour before trying to access it again.

If you would like to find an eBook in the Union Presbyterian Seminary Library collection, the main catalog search box on the Library homepage is a good place to begin, or you can also use the "Database Results" tab located next to the “Catalog Results” tab on the Library's catalog search results page.

Below is a chart detailing the tools and on-site/off-site access available for each of Union Presbyterian Seminary Library's eBook platforms:

If you are a student, faculty, or staff user and have a citation for an article, or if you would like to browse or search through a specific journal or magazine, our E-Journals Full Text Finder tool is the most efficient way to find what you're looking for. Full Text Finder lists all electronic journals and thousands of eBooks cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Union

Presbyterian Seminary Library. This easy-to-use publication search service enables users to quickly locate full-text periodical titles and eBooks alphabetically by title or by subject. To access the E-Journals Full Text Finder, hover over Library Resources on the top menu of the Library's website and select E-Journals Full Text Finder from the list that appears. From the main E-Journals Full Text Finder search page, enter the title of the journal in the Searching: Library Publications (not the article title from the citation you may be working from). If you have the ISSN of the journal, you may search by that as well. If you are just looking around, on the other hand, you may want to browse by discipline.

The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library offers over forty research databases that include millions of peer reviewed journal articles, eBooks, full dissertations, book reviews and more. These databases are available on any of the library's public computer workstations and via Wi-Fi on the seminary's IP ranges with no login information required. They are also available remotely to all students, faculty, and staff. For a list of the Library’s key databases with notes about the on-site/off-site availability of each, see the following chart. Additional information about Library databases is available on the Library web site at https://library.upsem.edu/research-resources/online-databases/.

Students, faculty and staff can also search most of our databases at one time by using a “Database Results” tab located next to the “Catalog Results” tab on the Library's catalog search results page. The results in this tab are drawn from EBSCO Discovery Service via API and sometimes include “research starters” to introduce research topics and provide suggested bibliographies. Both catalog search results and database search results can be narrowed down by using facets provided on each search results page.

Databases for our alumni users can be found in the Alumni Research Portal. This portal incorporates ATLAS for alums service that many alumni already use, but adds an expansion called ATLAS Plus (for a total of over 500 full-text e-journals), the JSTOR Religion and Theology e-journals archive, and millions of e-Books and documents being digitized by libraries around the world. These materials have been compiled into an authorized database just for our alumni, so the results will be delivered to you every time you make a search.

Databases for our member users can be found in the Member Research Portal. It searches over 6 million full-text journal articles, over 5 million full-text e-Books, and a variety of other materials from high-quality web-based sources such as the Directory of Open Access Journals, British Library EThOS, ERIC, and HathiTrust. Members also have off-campus access to RB Digital, a collection of over 30,000 downloadable audiobooks, and to the Library’s own digitized historical collections.

1. Accordance 13 Greek and Hebrew Discoverer Collection Software

This massive theological library builds upon Accordance's Primary Collection and includes an even greater wealth of Bibles, ancient texts, cutting-edge original language tools, in-depth commentaries, specialized Bible dictionaries, detailed histories, and a myriad of theological writings, engaging graphics, and much more. This collection also includes the Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament (BDAG) and Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament (HALOT) add-ons. It is available on both Reference Room computers in the Richmond Library and on two public-facing computers in the Charlotte Library.

2. Kurzweil 3000 Software

Kurzweil 3000 is an assistive technology, text-to-speech, learning tool that supports the concept of Universal Design for Learning with a suite of powerful reading, writing, test taking, and study skill tools that makes curricula accessible to all students. It is particularly appropriate for students with learning disabilities such as dyslexia, dysgraphia, those who require reading intervention, students struggling with reading comprehension and English Language Learners (ELL). Kurzweil 3000 software is accessible on a computer workstation located on the lower level of Morton Library, Room B138.

The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library offers streaming video collections from a variety of platforms, each with their own unique search interface and content. A good way to begin exploring our research databases is to hover over the LIBRARY RESOURCES menu heading on the Library website and then click STREAMING COLLECTIONS.

Our RESEARCH GUIDES page suggests books, eBooks, databases, articles, websites, digital resources and more to facilitate your work. Here is an alphabetical list of research guides that are currently available to both on-site and off-site students, faculty and staff as well as a brief description of what each guide offers.

1. Library Access and Services for Distance Students
https://upsem.libguides.com/distanceeducation
Provides an overview of essential resources and services for distance education students at Union Presbyterian Seminary. Introduces and guides distance students through access and use of the Library's databases, eBooks and digital reference resources. Also provides a number of useful quick links to the Library's research guides, Interlibrary loan services (ILL) and offers a suite of helpful video tutorials that introduce you to Library staff and essential services.

2. Biblical Studies
https://upsem.libguides.com/bible
Guides for courses that relate to the Old and New Testaments. Was developed to highlight library resources for researching and writing an Exegesis Paper. It also can be used to aid in the general understanding and reflection of the Bible.

3. Cannon Collection
https://upsem.libguides.com/cannon
This is a guide to resources that provide the underpinning of Womanist theology and ethics. Dr. Katie Geneva Cannon, beloved professor at Union Presbyterian Seminary from 2001 until her death in 2018, was "a foundational voice of womanist theology."

4. Center for Social Justice and Reconciliation
https://upsem.libguides.com/csjr
This guide has been created to support the mission of the Center for Social Justice and Reconciliation with a collection of extant digital and physical resources pertaining to the CSJR's areas of focus including: urban ministry concerns, social justice ministry concerns, contemporary issues, black church studies, LGBTQ ministry and justice issues, and evangelism from a social justice perspective. Each area of study has been given its own unique page in the guide.

5. Christian Education
https://upsem.libguides.com/mace
These resource guides have been developed for the Master of Arts in Christian Education Program.

6. Digital Reference Resources at UPSem
https://upsem.libguides.com/dig-ref
The Union Presbyterian Seminary Library has a large collection of digital reference sources that reside on a number of vendor platforms. This guide brings together many of these sources in one guide, arranging them by reference categories including; Bible Commentaries, Dictionaries & Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Bibles & Concordances, Preaching & Lectionary Aids, Theologians and Writing and Style Guides.

7. Exhibitions
https://upsem.libguides.com/exhibits
Research guides to give more information about the periodic art exhibitions hosted by the Union Presbyterian Seminary.

8. Finding and Using eBooks
https://upsem.libguides.com/eBooks
This guide highlights Union Presbyterian Seminary Library eBook collections as well as offering discovery and access instruction.

9. Guide to the Research Process
https://upsem.libguides.com/research
This guide provides an introduction to the skills needed to conduct general research.

10. In the Instructional Resource Center
https://upsem.libguides.com/irc/home
An introduction to the Library's Instructional Resource Center including some of the important resources and services it offers to Union Presbyterian Seminary students and faculty.

11. Internet Resources for Theology Students
https://upsem.libguides.com/theology_resources
This guide of web resources should be viewed as a supplement to the Library's resources. There are good resources online that are helpful to academic and ministry work. These have been organized by subject, rather than by website, so it will be easier to search. Most of the Bible and Reference resources listed are academic gateways that, while they may vary in scope, rigor, and currency provide extensive information by experts in the field.

12. Library Access and Services for Distance Students
https://upsem.libguides.com/distanceeducation

13. Library Collection Development and Access Policy
https://upsem.libguides.com/cdap

14. Ordination Examinations Preparation
https://upsem.libguides.com/exams
We have developed this guide to help you access our library resources for Ords prep at home. If
you need anything else, we are still only a phone call away, so please let us know how we can
help. Otherwise, the materials here should make your research, study and preparation time a
little bit smoother.

15. Preaching and Worship
https://upsem.libguides.com/praw

16. Public Theology
https://upsem.libguides.com/pt

17. Research Bytes and Other Self-Guided Tutorials
https://upsem.libguides.com/tutorials
"Research Bytes" is a video series on some tenets of basic research skills that are designed to
enhance our students information literacy.

18. Seminary Research Guides by Courses
https://upsem.libguides.com/Index

19. The Black Church in America
https://upsem.libguides.com/BCA
This guide contains resources for studying and researching the history, theologies, and present- day realities of Black churches and Black church culture in America.

20. The Church in the World
https://upsem.libguides.com/churchintheworld

21. Tips and Resources on Writing Well in Seminary
https://upsem.libguides.com/c.php?g=924080
This guide offers basic writing tips to help students make the transition to seminary education. Additional resources are listed for more in depth work.

22. Using ATLA Religion Database & ATLA PLUS
https://upsem.libguides.com/atla
A guide to the ATLA Religion Database and ATLAS Plus including instructions for; access, searching for scripture passages, selecting full-text articles, finding articles in specific journals, changing and combining databases, filtering results, looking for book reviews as well as saving, emailing and printing.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services are managed by our Technical Services department in Richmond. Mengistu Lemma is responsible for requests submitted by users and Jonathan Yates handles outgoing materials sent to other institutions. Generally speaking, all current students, faculty and staff of Union Presbyterian Seminary are eligible for ILL services. We recommend that others who wish to request materials not in our collection seek help at their local public Library or, if time is not of concern, send a request for the library to purchase the resource.

Our Interlibrary Loan Request form is provided at the bottom of the Interlibrary Loan page. You can use this form, or the form found in our catalog’s bibliographic records, to place your requests. The information collected on these forms will be sent automatically to Mengistu Lemma.

Charlotte faculty and students may use the significantly larger Richmond Library collection as an ILL source by placing a hold on the book they require. The “hold” option is located just to the right of the title of the book in the UPSem library online catalog. They will then be asked to enter their library card barcode number and unique PIN. The requested resource should arrive in 3-5 days.

If Charlotte faculty and students have any questions about borrowing from the Richmond Library, please contact David Mayo at 980-636-1665 or dmayo@upsem.edu.

Some important details about borrowing through ILL include:

• A student can have only five books borrowed from interlibrary loan at one time.
• Some material (such as microfiche and microfilm) must be viewed in the Richmond Library building. Other libraries can also request that their books not leave the Richmond Library as well. If that is the case, we will let you know.
• Whole issues or volumes of periodicals cannot be borrowed.
• We are only allowed to borrow five articles from one journal within the most recent five years of that journal’s publication. This is five cumulative articles and not five per patron. When we have reached that five article limit, we will pursue purchasing the article for your use.
• We will not request textbooks or other required course readings via ILL. If you believe that the Library needs more copies of a particular book for student use, please contact our Seminary Librarian.
• Physical ILLs must be picked up in Richmond, whereas electronic ILLs are available to students, faculty and staff at any location.

In addition to accessing our own library resources and services, whether physical or electronic, our Library's participation in three reciprocal borrowing programs now provides Seminary students and faculty with circulation privileges at 186 other academic (mostly theological) libraries in North America, with the greatest concentration of these libraries in Virginia and North Carolina. These reciprocal
borrowing programs are facilitated through the VIVA (the Virtual Library of Virginia) consortium, the CTLC (Carolinas Theological Library Consortium), and Atla.

1. VIVA Cooperative Borrowing Program
Faculty, staff and currently enrolled students of Union Presbyterian Seminary have the privilege of borrowing items on-site from any participating Library in the Commonwealth of Virginia. These libraries are members of VIVA, Virginia’s academic Library consortium. For more information about VIVA and its member libraries, visit their website at https://vivalib.org.

For further information about the VIVA Cooperative Borrowing program as well as a list of VIVA Member institutions and their status in this program, please visit the VIVA Cooperative Borrowing Program website. From the home page select Resource Sharing from the top menu and click Cooperative Borrowing from the dropdown menu. Participating institutions may lend to borrowers from non-participating institutions at their discretion.

Patrons who wish to borrow media items from partner libraries should make those arrangements with the staff in our Instructional Resource Center.

The borrower will be responsible for returning all items, when they are due, to the Library from which they were borrowed. The borrower will be liable for any overdue fines or other penalty charges.

2. Carolinas Theological Library Consortium

The Carolinas Theological Library Consortium (CTLC) was created to allow greater resource sharing among schools with theology and/or religion programs in the greater Charlotte, North Carolina area. It has grown over time to include institutions throughout North and South Carolina. Each school in the Consortium has agreed to abide by the following borrowing policies. Students are advised to have their current student identification with them to check out materials from another CTLC library.

• Circulating library materials may be borrowed by duly certified faculty, students, and staff of CTLC member schools and organizations from any CTLC member library in accordance with the borrowing regulations of the lending library.
• Borrowers are responsible for learning circulation and access regulations at the respective institution’s library. Borrowers agree to be governed by these regulations.
• Patrons need to borrow books in person. Libraries are not expected to answer telephone queries or provide materials by mail, except for inter-library loans requested through standard ILL request forms.
• Users of any CTLC library are subject to all fines, rules, and regulations of the servicing library. Patrons will be notified of overdue material by the library from which the library material was borrowed.

3. Atla Reciprocal Borrowing Program

The Atla Reciprocal Borrowing Program creates an arrangement between participating North American Atla Institutional Members to grant check-out privileges to each other’s patrons/students. A patron/student walks into a participating Library, shows proof of current enrollment at another participating Library, and checks out materials based on the Library's local lending policies.

For more information and for a spreadsheet of participating libraries, visit the ATLA Reciprocal Borrowing webpage at https://www.atla.com/learning-engagement/member-projects-and-programs/reciprocal-borrowing

Regardless of location or program, students and faculty have access to standard library services over the phone, via email, via Zoom conference, and by other means, as described in this chart:

Contact information for these service providers is available on the Library web site at https://library.upsem.edu/about-the-library/richmond-campus/staff/.