Skip to Main Content 
Lexicons, Analytical Lexicons, and Parsing Guides
- Diggle, James, ed. The Cambridge Greek Lexicon. 2 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021.
- Richmond: REF. BR 64.5 C1784 Vols.1 & 2
- Aims primarily to meet the needs of modern students, but is also designed to be of interest to scholars. Its coverage extends from Homer to the early second century CE. Entries are organized according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Definitions are given in addition to translations; both are expressed in contemporary English. Other textual and explanatory information is included, such as typical circumstances in which a world may be used, thus giving fresh insights into aspects of Greek language and culture.
- † Friberg, Barbara, Timothy Friberg, and Neva Miller, eds. Analytical Lexicon of the Greek New Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 2000.
- Richmond: REF. BR 63.3 F897
- Charlotte: REF. 487.4 F8973A; 487.4 F8973A
- Alphabetical arrangement of every Greek form found in the major printed editions of the Greek New Testament: UBS, Nestle-Aland, and the Majority Text. Consequently, ANLEX is a lexicon of the New Testament's language in all its manuscript forms.
- † Han, Nathan E. A Parsing Guide to the Greek New Testament. Scottdale, PA/Waterloo, Ont.: Herald Press, 1971.
- Richmond: REF BR 67 H233; PA847 .H3
- Charlotte: 225.48 P25
- Arranged verse by verse, parses every verb as it occurs in the Greek NT.
- Liddell, Henry George, and Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon. 9th edition. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.
- Richmond: REF BR 45 L712 1996
- Charlotte: REF. 483.21 L712G 1996
- Perhaps the most comprehensive and up-to-date ancient Greek dictionary in the world.
- Montanari, Franco. The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek. Edited by Madeleine Got and Chad Schroeder. Leiden/Boston: Brill, 2015.
- Richmond: REF. BR 45 M7648
- Comprising 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond, this Greek dictionary goes beyond NT Greek so you can get a fuller understanding of how words are used in non-biblical texts.
- † Moulton, Harold K. The Analytical Greek Lexicon Revised. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan Publishing House, 1977.
- Richmond: REF. BR 64.5 A532 1978; PA881 .A5 1978
- This book lists in alphabetical order every Greek form with a complete grammatical analysis, contains notations on important variant readings and provides a short grammar of NT Greek with grammatical charts.
- Moulton, J. H., and G. Milligan. Vocabulary of the Greek Testament. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 1997. (Original printing, 1930.)
- Richmond: REF. BR 64.5 M927 1997; PA881 .M7 1997
- Charlotte: 487.4 V8513
- Moulton & Milligan’s lexicon was among the first to interact with the thousands of Greek papyri, ostraca, and inscriptions discovered in Egypt during the mid- to late-19th century. These fragments are the written record of everyday life in that time. Using this lexicon will help you see how ordinary people would have understood the words and expressions of the New Testament authors. Moulton & Milligan used the papyri and other artifacts to show that New Testament Greek was not a special dialect (“Hebraic Greek”) but was rather the common or Koine Greek of the people who lived during this time.
- † Rogers, Cleon L., Jr., and Cleon L. Rogers III. The New Linguistic and Exegetical Key to the Greek New Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan Publishing House, 1998.
- Richmond: REF. BR 65 R7249; BS1965.2 1998
- Going verse by verse, this resource provides help in three areas:
- Lexical: It identifies unusual and uncommon word forms that in the past had to be looked up in a lexicon, as well as their meaning, based on standard lexicons.
- Grammatical: It provides grammatical insights from the leading Greek grammars.
- Exegetical: Provides exegetical insights and nuances, as well as references to a wide range of commentaries, monographs, journal articles, historical works, the Dead Sea Scrolls, etc.
- Spicq, Ceslas. Theological Lexicon of the New Testament. 3 volumes. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 1994.
- Richmond: REF. BR 63 S754 E vols. 1-3
- Charlotte: 487.4 SP42TXE vols. 1-3
- “Thayer's" (as it’s usually called) provides dictionary definitions for each word and relates each word to its New Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. Offers near-exhaustive coverage of New Testament Greek words, as well as extensive quotations of extra-biblical word usage, with a wealth of background sources consulted and quoted.
- † Baylor Handbook on the Greek Text series. Baylor University Press, 2009-present.
- All volumes available at the Richmond campus and most available at the Charlotte campus. Please click the link above to search for the particular volume you need and find its call number in the catalog record.
- This series has separate volumes for each biblical book, like a commentary, but it specifically focuses on textual issues, offering a comprehensive guide to the grammar and vocabulary of the book in question. Our faculty regularly recommend this series for students who are preparing to take the exegesis portion of Ordination Exams.
