Biblical Language Study Resources

• This website includes many major translations of the Bible (good if you want to compare English versions) as well as Greek and Hebrew study resources such as searchable public-domain Greek and English concordances (including Thayer’s and Strong’s). You can do some of the basic searching you might do in Accordance, but for free on the web.

• This site for Hebrew study says it's in beta, but it's been in beta for over a decade now, and it works well. Allows you to access the MT (on which BHS is based) with vowels and markings. If you hover over words, it will gloss them for you and parse the verbs. Now also includes Septuagint and English parallel texts.

• Sefaria is a compendium of Jewish resources for the study of Hebrew and Aramaic. It includes the full texts of the Hebrew Bible (Masoretic Text), Talmud, Mishnah, and Tosefta, as well as medieval Jewish commentaries and many texts related to halakhah, Kabbalah, and Jewish philosophy, among other topics. Importantly, it also contains Klein's English/modern Hebrew dictionary and Jastrow's Dictionary of the Targumim, Talmud Bavli, Talmud Yerushalmi, an excellent resource for the study of Aramaic.

† OpenText.org: www.opentext.org

• Annotated Greek texts and tools for their analysis. Texts are annotated with various levels of     linguistic information, such as text-critical, grammatical, semantic and discourse features.

Online Liddell-Scott-Jones lexicon (and others): http://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/lexica.php

• As part of a larger project, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae has digitized the Liddel-Scott-Jones lexicon as well as Cunliffe’s Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect, Powell’s Lexicon to Herodotus, S. Koumanoudes’s Synagoge Neon Lexeon, and the Lexicon fur Byzantinischen Gräzität. Most of these go well beyond needs for NT research, but may be useful comparative tools, and LSJ is a standard for NT research.

• Accordance is available for your use on the Reference room computers in Richmond and Charlotte! Just ask Robin or David to show you how to use it if you're not familiar with it.
• Starter Hebrew Language package (includes BHS and abridged BDB) = $99.90 (as of October 2021).
• Many modules available as add-ons, including reference grammars, commentaries, dictionaries, atlases, etc. Indeed, many of the books listed in this guide are available as digital add-ons in Accordance. It's very easy for this to get expensive, fast, but the ability to add on resources a la carte means it doesn't have to be.

• Base packages start at $294.99 (as of October 20210 but these don’t include biblical language resources.
• Tons and tons of resources for language study, fairly comparable to Accordance. Quite expensive, although, as with Accordance, you can buy some resources a la carte once you have a starter package.